Campion Library: Religion Research Guides: World Religions

USEFUL RELIGION LINKS

Religion Facts
The purpose of ReligionFacts is to provide "just the facts" on the world's religions and topics of religious interest. Every effort has been taken to present material from an impartial, academic perspective.
It has a great comparative religions chart.

DIGITAL RESOURCES

The following DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication.

Click libAuth - Saint Ignatius' College and enter you network log in details.

The library has a comprehensive collection of resources on World Religions and they can be accessed in a variety of ways.

BOOKS

There are two methods for accessing the huge collection of books on world religions. You can browse for books on World Religions at 200 in the Non-fiction Collection. See the box on the right for the corresponding Dewey number for each of the major religions.

Alternatively you can use Oliver to search for information on your religion.

DATABASES & E-BOOKS

The World Religions Database is an excellent source of information on each of the major world religions. Click on the Browse button below the search box and find all the resources on the world religion of your choice.

The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a huge Collection of e-books and you can type in your religion in the search box or browse the religion collection.

WEBSITES

Naturally, you can Google information on your world religion however it is worth your time to go to Weblinks K-12 and search for your religion. Weblinks is a database of websites that have been chosen with the Australian National Curriculum in mind and targeted at secondary and primary school aged students.

REFERENCING

All good research must include a bibliography and appropriate referencing. The ORG (Online Reference Generator) will help you create references in the correct format. Go to the Cite Libguide to access more information about referencing.

VIDEOS

More World Religions videos on ClickView

LIBRARY CATALOGUE

DEWEY DECIMAL

You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
Note that resources about specific events will be located within the Dewey division for the country where the event took place.

200	Religion
230	Christianity
290	Other religions
291	Comparative Religions
294.3	Buddhism
294.5	Hinduism
294.4	Sikhism
296	Judaism
297	Islam

REFERENCING

The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.

The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.

MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included.