 |
Find and get Australian and online resources:
books, images, historic newspapers, maps, music, archives and more
The Conversation is an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public. The editors work with university, CSIRO and research institute experts to unlock their knowledge for use by the wider public.
Crikey is a blend of opinion and analysis together with a a stream of Inquiry Journalism that questions assumptions, challenges power structures and investigates the ‘why’ and ‘how’, not just the ‘what’ of significant stories.
New Matilda covers Australian and international politics, media and culture. It publishes commentary on current events as well as breaking news and investigative journalism.
The Stringer is an independent online news site, delivering free-to-access independent news. It sometimes reports stories that others initially were not prepared to investigate and report.
Salon is an independent publication covering news and politics through a progressive, nonpartisan editorial lens, alongside our rigorous and inquisitive coverage of culture and entertainment, science and health, and food.
Since 1857, The Atlantic has been challenging assumptions and pursuing truth.
Some of these academic search engines will take you to open access research papers.
The Clearinghouse for Sport is the information and knowledge-sharing platform for Australian sport.
The Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW) is an independent statutory agency.
Their mission is to produce authoritative and accessible information and statistics to inform and support better policy and service delivery decisions, leading to better health and wellbeing for all Australians.
The Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII) provides free internet access to Australasian legal materials. AustLII maintains its own collections of primary materials: legislation and court judgments ("case law").
Alternatively, AustLII also has a collection of secondary materials: commentaries and summaries on the law. This includes large projects such as the Australian Indigenous Law Library, the Australiasian Law Reform Library, the Australasian Law Journals Library and many others.
If you have no legal training but are trying to find out some legal information then consult the Community Legal Information pages. Select the subject matter that you are interested in and click on the links until you find the information you're after.
You can consult the comprehensive on-line help pages for help on searching and locating information
Pew Research Center claim they are a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. They conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research.
ThoughtCo is a reference site with a focus on expert-created education content. Articles cover science and math, humanities and religion, or architecture and the arts, written by literature writers, Ph.D.s, and experienced instructors. Their goal is to give you the answers and information you need in a clear, easy-to-navigate format.
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
ERIC stands for Education Resources Information Center, and is a database that specifically hosts education-related literature.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization that creates and aggregates high quality, curated STEM content, including over 5,000 math and science concepts and FlexBooks with multiple modalities for all learning types including: videos, images, reading, simulations, real world applications, activities, flashcards, study guides, assessments and more.
Free eBooks: The ultimate guide
Every site and page listed in this guide offers quality eBooks for absolutely no charge.
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
On Planet Publish, you can download classic tales in PDF format. There are literary masterpieces like Canterbury Tales, Around the World in 80 Days, and Wuthering Heights – to name a few.
The University of Pennsylvania provides this extensive collection of digital books that anyone can access for free.
On ReadPrint, you can search through thousands of classic titles that you can read online for free.