Campion Library: English Research Guide : Film Studies

AUSTRALIAN FILM

ACMI: Australian Centre for the Moving Image
ACMI aims to reflect our diverse society, connecting watchers and learners, players and makers, through their onsite and digital programs and experiences. It is Australia’s national museum of film, TV, videogames, digital culture and art
Australian Academy Cinema Television Arts (AACTA) - formerly the Australian Film Institute (AFI)
The primary role of the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA), a not-for-profit organisation, is to recognise, encourage, promote and celebrate film and television excellence in Australia, connecting Australian and international audiences with great Australian screen content.
Australian Film Television and Radio School - Online Collection
The Library boasts an extensive and unique collection of items both on-premises and online. On-site, the library holds over 44,000 items, including over 17,000 DVDs, Blu-rays and VHS tapes, 20,000 books and ebooks, 3,000 film and television scripts and screenplays, and every AFTRS student film ever made. Online, there are over 75,000 streaming videos. The growing collection, which includes many rare and hard-to-find items, is regularly showcased through rotating displays.
Australian screen: an NFSA website
Australianscreen is the national audiovisual archive, collecting, preserving and sharing the nation’s moving image and recorded sound heritage.
It contains information about and excerpts from a wide selection of Australian feature films, documentaries, television programs, newsreels, short films, animations, and home-movies produced over the last 100 years.
It also includes teachers’ notes that identify and describe the educational values of many of the film clips.
National Film and Sound Archive
The NFSA’s mission is to collect, preserve and share Australia’s vibrant and diverse audiovisual culture as embodied by our evolving collection – reflecting who we were, who we are, and who we want to be.
Senses of Cinema
Senses of Cinema is an online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. We believe cinema is an art that can take many forms, from the industrially-produced blockbuster to the hand-crafted experimental work; we also aim to encourage awareness of the histories of such diverse forms. As an Australian-based journal, we have a special commitment to the regular, wide-ranging analysis and critique of Australian cinema, past and present.

FILM REVIEW DATABASES

Internet Resources

These web sites will give you full-text reviews for recent films.

Scholarly and Critical Film Databases

These databases will lead you to articles from journals and magazines published by film scholars.

Scope: An Online Journal of Film and Television Studies
Scope an online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham. The Scope online archive provides movie reviews from 1999 to 2004. You can search for a review using your film's title, or browse reviews by year of release.

FILM MAGAGINES

Metro specialises in essays, articles and interviews on Australian, New Zealand and Asian features, shorts and documentaries. It also covers television, web series, animation, games and new media.

Metro is indexed in the Australian New Zealand Reference Centre and you can access all the articles published since 2000. In addition there are print copies available in the library.

STREAMING SERVICES

You can access movies from many streaming services however the library subscribes to ClickView which is a a streaming service for education. Sign in and click on Libraries to access the Movies+TV COllection. YouTube can also be a source of free films.

VIDEOS WITH STUDY GUIDES

Atom Study Guides
A list of videos on ClickView that come with study guides