Campion Library: English Research Guide : Literature &amp; Film

DIGITAL RESOURCES

The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication.

AustLit is a searchable, scholarly source of authoritative biographical, bibliographic, critical, and production information about Australian writers and writing. It is a paid subscription but you get five free views.

If you want full access to AustList you can get unlimited access for free by joining the Australian National Library. Click HERE to register and you will be given access to this database and a whole lot more.

COMPARATIVE TEXT STUDY

To pair a text with another text, film, poem or short story you have to start by reading the book. You then identify the themes and this will help you to find a match.

Oliver is a good resources as it usually provides the genre or subject areas the book is about and gives suggestions for other books by the author or similar titles.

The library subscribes to several databases which can also help you connect your text. ReadPlus and NoveList Plus are particularly useful.

The following websites can also help you find books or films by genre, keyword or theme.

SOCIAL MEDIA & FINDING A BOOK

You can find a book to read in the library by browsing the shelves, looking at the genre stickers or by using Oliver. You can also use social media to help you find a book. The following two databases can be very helpful, just type in a book you have read or someone has recommended and you will be able to find other similar books.

CHOOSING A FILM

Filmaboutit allows you to search for films by topic

You can search IMBb for movies by genre or keyword this can be useful when looking for a film that you can pair with a novel.

A trope is a storytelling device or convention, a shortcut for describing situations the storyteller can reasonably assume the audience will recognize. Tropes are the means by which a story is told by anyone who has a story to tell. This site collects them and gives examples of where they appear in films, TV shows, books and comics

USEFUL LINKS

Litcharts
National Library: Australian Literature
There are a number of free websites and subscription databases containing online material, some full-text, for Australian literature works, biographies and criticism.
Black Words
BlackWords researches and records a diverse range information about the lives and works of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander writers and storytellers and the literary cultures and traditions that formed and influenced them.
20th Century Literature
Explore the ways in which key 20th-century authors experimented with new forms and themes to capture the fast-changing world around them.

LIBRARY CATALOGUE

VIDEOS ONLINE

SHORT STORIES & MORE

Project Gutenberg
The best source for public domain books, short stories, and poetry; Project Gutenberg boasts over 60,000 free ebooks. You don’t have to download any special apps to read their content; the books or short stories will download to whatever you use to read other digital books.
Guernica
Guernica is a nonprofit digital magazine that publishes just about everything from poetry to fiction, comics, interviews, and essays.
The Atlantic
The Atlantic is recognized for their journalism, but they also publish great short stories from well-established and emerging writers. You can access stories from the current issue of the magazine, or from their archives.
Terraform
Terraform (from Vice) publishes science fiction short stories.
Virginia Quarterly Review
Virginia Quarterly Review publishes criticism, poetry, photography, and fiction (short stories).
Australian Literature: Short Stories