|
|
Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear. A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search.
|
LOOKING FOR FACTS ON VOLCANOES, TSUNAMIS, EARTHQUAKES OR PLATE TECTONICS START HERE. The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication. The Gale Virtual Reference Library has a comprehensive collection of e-books. You can browse individual titles or do a search for your topic.The gale virtual reference library has a comprehensive collection of e-books. You can browse individual titles or do a search for your topic.
Encyclopedias are good starting points for research in this topic. You will find the correct facts in language that is at an appropriate reading level.
The Science Online Database has easy to read articles on a range of topics related to plate tectonics. Type in plate tectonics or your topic and click search. There are several short video clips on many of the topics.
|
ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.
Use keywords to search for your topic and use the filters on the right hand side to filter your results.
The Caltech Science Exchange provides clear and credible explanations of high-profile science and engineering topics.
A website that looks at how science affects day-to-day life.
Videos are are another information source that can be used for research. A playlist on this topic has been created for you.
CONTINENTAL DRIFT
MORE VIDEOS
|
Here are some search terms you may want to use for this task, just change the "disaster" and perhaps add the country
earthquake resistant earthquake response earthquake preparedness earthquake early detection earthquake AND (impact OR consequence) |
You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
| 550 |
Earth Sciences |
| 551.1 |
Properties of the earth |
| 551.2 | Volcanoes & earthquakes |
| 551.4 | Geomorphology & hyrdosphere |
|
The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.
The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.
MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included. |
The library subscribes to a print copies of New Scientist however there are many free articles available from their website. In addition you can find any articles you cannot access in full from EBSCOhost ANZRC on the paid subscription page.
Scientific American covers the advances in research and discovery that are changing our understanding of the world and shaping our lives. It provides coverage, insights, and illumination of the most important developments at the intersection of science and society. It is subscription-based but has many free articles. You can access many articles in full from EBSCOhost ANZRC on the paid subscription page.
