Campion Library: Sciences Research Guides: SHE: Gene Technology

Do a search for gene technology in TED talks and sort by newest

USEFUL WEBSITES ON GENE TECHNOLOGY

CSIRO - Gene Technology
As Australia’s national research agency CSIRO plays a key role in the development and deployment of important technologies to benefit Australia’s people, industries and environment. As part of this, there is a broad spectrum of gene technology-related research happening across CSIRO.
Should Gene Screening For Insurance Be Allowed?
Gene screening for insurance is very controversial but has been approved in many countries.
How are GM foods regulated in Australia
Beyond Perfectionism
This is an older article on designer babies from The Centre of Bioethics and Dignity butit covers some interesting points. you can also find some more contemporary articles on bioethics.
Creating Superhumans Through Gene Manipulation and More
A great article from How Stuff Works and you can search for other articles on genetics.

USEFUL SCIENCE LINKS

National Geographic Education Resource Library
A collection of resources that can be searched by type, level and topic.
CSIRO
The CSIRO work with industry, government and the research community to turn science into solutions to address Australia's greatest challenges, including food security and quality; clean energy and resources; health and wellbeing; resilient and valuable environments; and innovative industries.

CLICKVIEW VIDEOS

Bioethics
Through case studies, this programme looks at two aspects of bioethics. It examines the use of live animals in medical research and the development of Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs).

The programme explores some of the ethical issues involved in modern applications of biology and experts give their views for and against the two practices providing the viewer with an ethical debate.
Food for Thought
Genetic engineering, cloning and stem cell research are revolutionising the world we live in. Every single day the boundaries of understanding are being pushed back, and science fiction is becoming science fact. This outrageous but timely series, Animal Pharm, brings these shocking innovations together under one roof.
Redesigning Nature - Gene Technology
The controversial debate of gene technology: the specific ways genes have been manipulated to produce bigger and better crops and animals and the facts behind its potential impact on human health and the environment.
Medicine's Big Breakthrough: Editing Your Genes
Panorama looks at how gene editing could change the lives of everyone and everything on the planet

CRITICAL ANALYSIS OF SOURCES

Evaluating information sources is an important part of the research process. Not all information is reliable or true, nor will all information be suitable for your assignment or project.

In brief, you ask the following questions:

Who has written the information and what authority do they have? Is the information objective or biased? Is there a hidden agenda? Is it corroborated by other sources? How current is the information? Is it relevant to your topic?

To help identify the answers to these questions we use the C.R.A.A.P. test

Evaluating Sources Libguide

Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear. A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search. This Libguide has been created to provide support for your research tasks in this subject area.

Before starting your research, it is good practice to think about and create a list of keywords that you can use to search for information on your topic. Google is very intuitive however databases usually require a search string. Here are a few tips to help you.

Words are sometimes spelled differently, for example, colonization is sometimes written as colonisation.
Many search engines and databases use Boolean logic to construct a search term. The asterisk is known as a wild card. The use of AND, OR and NOT can also be helpful.
Sometimes it is useful to use other words that mean similar or the same thing (synonyms) or broaden the search by using a less subject specific word
Use quotation marks when you are searching for a phrase.

Suggestions for this topic:

biotechnology

"gene technology"

bioethics and "gene technology"

biotechnology and genes

PREMIUM SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES

The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication.

The following two databases provides a range of resources on a selected topics which include reference material, articles, videos, images and links to relevant websites. They are particularly good if you have not chosen your topic as they allow you to browse by topic and subject area.

Opposing Viewpoints database provides multiple perspectives on a range of topics which include reference material, articles, videos, images and links to relevant websites.

Click on browse topics, find and click on the bioethics link.

Science Reference Centre will give you the latest published articles on your topic.

Use Weblinks to find relevant websites for this topic

REFERENCING

The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.

The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.

MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included.

LIBRARY CATALOGUE

SHELF BROWSING

You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
Note that resources about specific events will be located within the Dewey division for the country where the event took place.

170	Ethics
174	Medical ethics
500	Science
540	Chemistry
570	Life sciences; biology
576	Genetics and Evolution
660.6	Biotechnology

OPEN ACCESS DATABASES

Frontiers journals are led and peer-reviewed by editorial boards of researchers and cover more than 600 academic disciplines.

GENERAL SCIENCE RESOURCES

ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations.

The Australian Academy of Science provides accurate and engaging content in a way that everyone can access.

Science in the Classroom is a collection of freely available annotated research papers from the Science family of journals. It aims to help educators, undergraduates, and advanced high school students understand the research contained in scientific primary literature by using annotations and providing accompanying teaching materials.

Science News for Students (formerly Science News for Kids) publishes award-winning journalism on research across the breadth of science, health and technology fields. An acids and bases search has been done but you can filter the search by topic.

ThoughtCo is a reference site with a focus on expert-created education content. Articles cover science and math, humanities and religion, or architecture and the arts, written by literature writers, Ph.D.s, and experienced instructors. Their goal is to give you the answers and information you need in a clear, easy-to-navigate format.