Campion Library: History Research Guides: Ancient Civilizations

ANCIENT HISTORY - USEFUL WEBSITES

World History Encyclopedia
Ancient World Magazine
Find articles, podcasts, videos and recommended websites on all areas of ancient history. The content is written by historians and archaeologists in an engaging, readable style. You can search by keyword or alphabetically by topic, but there is no advanced search facility or citation tools.
Encyclopedia Mythica
The Encyclopedia Mythica is an online encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, and legends. It currently contains over 6,100 entries on gods and goddesses, heroes, legendary creatures and beings from all over the world.

ANCIENT ROME - USEFUL WEBSITES

Ancient Rome
Ancient History Encyclopedia presents information on Ancient Rome. Follow the hyperlinks in text to explore further content. Check out the linkslinks at the bottom of the page for related resources.
BBC History: Romans
Click on the link Life in Ancient Rome to explore information on - death in Rome, the Roman way to building a career, discovering Roman technology, resisting slavery in Ancient Rome, Roman food and recipes, and Roman women.
Social Pecking Order in the Roman World
Roman society is often represented as one of social extremes - with the wealth, power and opulence of an emperor existing alongside the poverty, vulnerability and degradation of a slave. But beyond this, how and why was Roman society stratified? What were the major distinctions that shaped and influenced peoples' lives?
Ancient Rome objects on a history of the world
Ancient Rome for Kids
Easy to read resources on Ancient Rome including - overview and history, daily life, people, cities and engineering, arts and religion and legal aspects.
Rome Reborn
A digital model illustrating the development of ancient Rome from the earliest settlement in the late Bronze Age (ca. 1000 B.C.) to the beginning of the medieval period.
What was life like in ancient Rome?
This website is a good source of information for reluctant readers.
Public Sewers and Sponges on Sticks: How Toilets Worked in Ancient Rome

VIDEOS

Videos are another information source that can be used for research. There are many ways of accessing videos on your topic and while YouTube is a popular choice and the school also subscribes to ClickView which is a a streaming service for education.

Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear. A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search. This Libguide has been created to provide support for your research tasks in this subject area.

DIGITAL RESOURCES

The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication.

SEARCH STRATEGIES

Before starting your research, it is good practice to think about and create a list of keywords that you can use to search for information on your topic. Google is very intuitive however databases usually require a search string. Here are a few tips to help you.

Words are sometimes spelled differently, for example, colonization is sometimes written as colonisation.

Many search engines and databases use Boolean logic to construct a search term. The asterisk is known as a wild card. The use of AND, OR and NOT can also be helpful.

Sometimes it is useful to use other words that mean similar or the same thing (synonyms)

Use quotation marks when you are searching for a phrase.

Using keywords that relate to the topic will focus the search

Suggestions for this topic:

ancient Rome AND fashion OR clothing OR textiles OR footwear

ancient Rome AND technology OR inventions

ancient Rome AND "daily life"

Indus Valley Civilization

Sumer* AND Mesopotamia

LIBRARY CATALOGUE

BOOKS

The library has a comprehensive collection of print resources and they can be accessed in a variety of ways.

There are two methods for accessing books in the Campion Library. You can access the non fiction collection by browsing in the sections relating to your topic, the tables below give you the corresponding Dewey numbers for this topic. Alternatively, you can use Oliver to search for information. Type in your topic or a keyword to find relevant books.

292	Classical Religion (Greek and Roman)

305.409	Women in History
320.3	Politics in the ancient world
355.09	Military in the ancient world
391.009	Fashion in History
398	Folklore (Mythology)

609.38	Technology in the ancient world
610.938	Medicine in the Ancient World

704.03	Arts and crafts in the ancient world
709.37	Art in the ancient world

909	World History
930	Ancient History
931	Ancient China
932	Ancient Egypt
934	Ancient South Asia
935	Mesopotamia
937	Ancient Rome
938	Ancient Greece

REFERENCING

The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.

The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.

MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included.