|
|
|
Before starting your research, it is good practice to think about and create a list of keywords that you can use to search for information on your topic. Google is very intuitive however databases usually require a search string. Here are a few tips to help you. Many search engines and databases use Boolean logic to construct a search term. The asterisk is known as a wild card. The use of AND, OR and NOT can also be helpful. Sometimes it is useful to use other words that mean similar or the same thing (synonyms) Use quotation marks when you are searching for a phrase. Using keywords that relate to the topic will focus the search The order in which you enter your search string matters. The first word should be the context of what you are looking for
Examples: industrial revolution social impact "industrial revolution" AND environment AND "fossil fuels" AND impact "industrial revolution" AND "child (labour OR labor)"
|
Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear.
A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search.
This Libguide has been created to provide support for your research.
|
The library has a comprehensive collection of resources on the Industrial Revolution and they can be accessed in a variety of ways. |
|
There are two methods for accessing the non-fiction collection. Books on the industrial revolution can be found in different sections of the non-fiction collection. See the box on the right for the corresponding Dewey numbers to start your browsing. Alternatively, you can use Oliver to search for information. Type in the industrial revolution or world history to find relevant books. The links below the Oliver icon will take you directly to a list of books on the industrial revolution. |
|
The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication. Encyclopedias are good starting points for research on a topic as they usually provide concise accurate information on a whole range of topics. Try an advanced search in the Worldbook Encyclopedia. |
|
The GVRL database contains a large collection of e-books across many subjects.
The Modern World History database is an excellent source of information on the Industrial Revolution. Click on the browse button below the search box and find An Age of Revolutions: 1750–1914 OR Do a search for your specific topic.
The Gale in Context database provides a range of resources on a selected topics which include reference material, articles, videos, images and links to relevant websites. Click on Browse Topics and find the Industrial Revolution
|
You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
Note that resources about specific events will be located within the Dewey division for the country where the event took place.
| 330.9 |
Economic History |
| 338 |
History of Industrialization |
| 509 | History of Inventions |
| 610 |
History of Medicine |
| 909.8 | World History 1800 - |
| 941.081 | British History 1837 - |
|
The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.
The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.
MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included. |
