 |
Virtual War Memorial Australia
Virtual War Memorial Australia is an outstanding commemorative collection, purpose built to honour the personal experiences of all those who have served the nation in times of conflict, from the Boer War through to Afghanistan.
National Archives of Australia
NAA collects Australian Government records, preserves them, manages them and makes them public.
Australian Imperial Force Project
The AIF database is drawn from a range of official sources, including personal files on the National Archives website, and Embarkation and Nominal Rolls on the Australian War Memorial website
The Australian War Memorial Search
You can search the Australian War Memorial by name, date, unit,war or conflict.
South Australian Red Cross Information Bureau records
From 1916 until 1919, the South Australian Red Cross Information Bureau researched over 8,000 enquiries from family and friends of missing Australian Imperial Force personnel fighting in World War 1. Over 23,500 names are indexed including of soldiers enquired upon, eyewitnesses and enquirers.
Commonwealth War Graves Commission
This searchable site lists the 1.7 million men and women of the Commonwealth forces who died during the two World Wars.
World War I Pictorial Honour Roll of South Australians
This site is dedicated to commemorate the lives of those who served in the Great War in pictorial form.
The Australian Women's Register
The Australian Women's Register is a rich and growing source of information about Australian women and their organisations.
South Australians at War - World War I
This site provides links to original material relating to WWI.
South Australians of World War 1 Photographic Collection
The State Library has uploaded over 500 First World War portraits from our Chamberlain collection and our Ron Blum collection.
State Library of South Australia Military Resources Libguide
This State Library of South Australia guide to military related information includes medals, militia and Australian involvement in conflicts. The emphasis is on South Australian resources.
State Library of Victoria - Australians in World War 1 Guide
This guide focuses on Australians serving in World War 1. It also includes some information relevant to Great Britain, other Commonwealth nations and other combatant nations. There is a section on nurses and women's war occupations.
State Library Of New South Wales -World War I Collection
The State Library began collecting the personal diaries and correspondence of men and women who served in the First World War soon after the Armistice.
Newspapers can provide a rich source of biographical information. Many Australian national, regional and local newspapers are available online on Trove.
Biographical information contained in newspapers can include photographs, details of military actions undertaken and medals awarded.