 |
|
The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.
The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.
MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included. |
Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear. A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search. This Libguide has been created to provide support for your research.
There are two methods for accessing the huge collection of books on World War II. You can browse for books on World War II at 940.53 and for Australians at war at 994.04 in the Non-fiction Collection. See the box on the right for other Dewey numbers for World War II resources.
Alternatively you can use Oliver to search for information on world war 2.
To help you get started a trolley of books has been organised for this topic. It contains a selection of resources dealing mainly with timelines from this period.
| The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject. However, they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to the search page that requires authentication. You can then click on the database you need. The following databases are recommended for this topic. |
|
Modern History has a timelines section that will allow you to find important events of World War II. Click on the Browse button below the search box and click Timelines. Scroll down to A Half-Century of Crisis and Achievement and then filter the entries by choosing 1939 -1945.
Gale E-books is a huge collection of e-books just type in your event in the search box
The Worldbook Encyclopedia has a series of timelines. Click on the Timelines Icon and then choose World History in the toolbar of the left and then War and Conflict.
If you are looking for World War II Speeches the following databases have quite a few. Type in the name of your person and the word speech.in the search box Examples Churchill speeches Hitler speeches Eisenhower speeches
|
You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
Note that resources about specific events will be located within the Dewey division for the country where the event took place.
| 350 | Military Science |
| 808.85 | Collections of Speeches |
| 900 | Historiography, historical theory, historical dictionaries |
| 909.82 | Twentieth Century |
| 940 | History of Europe |
| 940.53 | World War II |
| 950 | History of Asia |
| 970 | History of North America |
| 980 | History of South America |
| 994 | History of Australia |
| 994.04 | Australia at war |
