Campion Library: History Research Guides: Cold War

PRIMARY SOURCES

Digital Archive International History Declassified The Digital Archive is a resource where students, researchers and specialists can access once-secret documents from governments and organizations all over the world.
The Cold War Primary Source Documents The mission of this site is to promote an interest in history, to help us understand where we have been so we can know where we are going, and to provide high-quality history materials free of charge to everyone.
The Cuban Missile Crisis 1962 - the 40th anniversary Press releases, selected documents, photographs, audio clips and other material from the historic conference in Havana.
The Cold War This Cold War site is created, maintained and hosted by Alpha History, an Australian-based group with authors and contributors worldwide.
British National Archives - The Cold War Most historians say the Cold War began soon after the end of World War 2 in 1945. However, relations between the USSR and Britain and the USA were often strained before that date. This website has a series of galleries containing primary sources exploring this issue.
The Cold War museum
Internet Modern History Sourcebook IMSP is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.

VIDEOS

More Cold War videos from ClickView

REFERENCING

The Referencing Libguide has resources on how to cite/reference sources in research.

The Online Reference Generator allows you to create citations and bibliographies using the Harvard Referencing Style for a comprehensive list of resources.

MyBib is a free online service that allows users to generate citations and bibliographies. You can paste in a DOI, ISBN or URL and have the fields populate automatically. However it does not always provide the correct reference so you must check that all possible parts of the reference have been included.

Research is a process with many steps, and is rarely linear. A good researcher uses multiple sources and continually goes back and reviews their question and keeps adding new vocabulary and learning to their search. This Libguide has been created to provide support for your research tasks in this subject area.

The library has a comprehensive collection of resources on Cold War and they can be accessed in a variety of ways.

There are two methods for accessing the huge collection of books on War. You can browse for books on the Cold War 909.82 . See the box on the right for other Dewey numbers for war resources.

Alternatively you can use Oliver to search for information on the Cold War.

DIGITAL RESOURCES

The following PREMIUM DIGITAL RESOURCES may be useful for research in this subject . However they are password protected and when you click on any of the icons below you will be re-directed to a page that requires authentication.

LIBRARY CATALOGUE

You can use Oliver to find books in the library however sometimes it is helpful to know the Dewey numbers for a subject. In doing so you will be able to find books on that subject in most libraries. It will also be useful at those times when you know the topic but don't know where to start looking.
Note that resources about specific events will be located within the Dewey division for the country where the event took place.

900	Historiography, historical theory, historical dictionaries
909.82	Twentieth Century
940	History of Europe
941	British Isles
943	Central Europe - Germany
950	History of Asia
970	History of North America
972	Middle America
973	United States
994	History of Australia
994.04	Australia at war

RESEARCH TEMPLATES

Notemaking Template
Bibliography Recording Template A template for recording bibliographic details